Posted in Game of Life

Street Hawk!

Its one fantastic year with Honda Activa by now. Absolutely great performance, considering the rough usage I have been carrying on. More than 10,000 km, which means about 25-30 km per day running it has given to me. If I had travelled 10,000 km in auto, I would have spent 70,000 Rs. If I assume 33km/liter average,I have used 303 liters of Petrol.With 50Rs per liter, I have spent 15,000 Rs on petrol. Effectively I saved 55,000 Rs for the amount of comfort conveyance! Of course, I wouldn’t have travelled by auto if I hadn’t used Activa, I would go a lot by bus. Still, say 4000 km I would have travelled on auto, (which I used to do!) I would have spent 28,000 in place of 15,000 on petrol. So I have anyways saved atleast 13,000!! Plus got a lot of conveyance. A number of activities this year were un-imaginably tough without the bike! 🙂 It gave conveyance to many others too!

Approximately in 3 years the entire investment cost will be returned with rewards.

I did spend some on maintenance:- I don’t drive like a scared puppy waiting for others to go , so that it can cross the road:- and in the process I have hit, peole have hit my bike, and I had to get some dents recovered! Plus polish, oil etc. Approx 5k went in that.

Also towards the end only I realized (thanks to Shailendra!) that it is the left break which needs to be pulled for starting the bike with switch, I was using right one! Now that had given rise to some starting problem… So the kick start was needed few times… And I realized that the batteries go dry, and they need to be checked up every month, and refilled with distilled water.

Now I am used to the pulse(read the engine sound) of the vehicle, and can figure out what’s happening inside. It also has tridoshas! Pitta is when it gets over-raised at the signal without giving the accelerator. Kapha is when it doesn’t start in the mornings of winter or after rains. Vata is when it gives polluted air (so far it hasn’t!)… 🙂 It also showed the trigunas- sometimes the Tamas was so high, that even kick-starting didn’t work! In Rajasic times, it was good at the start, but would not keep itself on when accelerator is not given, e.g. at signals. But it has been Satvik many times, it would go on atleast 5 km when the fuel tank is showing almost empty! I don’t remember of an occasion when I had to pull bike to petrol pump.

All and all I had a great time with the bike. I am generally fond of bikes like Royal Enfield – simply because I love perfection… However, when it comes to the cost, mileage, conveyance and maneuverability, Honda Activa is cool! 

In my college days there used to be this TV Serial:- Street Hawk… I used to love it, and since then whichever bike I drive(previously it was Bajaj 4S Kawasaki of my father), I imagine myself as Street Hawk!! Be Careful from me! 🙂

लेखक:

प्रतिक्रिया व्यक्त करा

